30 Day Book Challenge – Day 25

Standard

25. The nerdiest book you’ve ever read

I believe that the nerdiest book I’ve ever read is Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss.

I’m a bit of a stickler for punctuation and thnk that this book is amazing!

Eats, Shoots and Leaves - Lynne Truss

Anxious about the apostrophe? Confused by the comma? Stumped by the semicolon? Join Lynne Truss on a hilarious tour through the rules of punctuation that is sure to sort the dashes from the hyphens.

We all had the basic rules of punctuation drilled into us at school, but punctuation pedants have good reason to suspect they never sank in. ‘Its Summer!’ screams a sign that sets our teeth on edge. ‘Pansy’s ready’, we learn to our considerable interest (‘Is she?’) as we browse among the bedding plants.

It is not only the rules of punctuation that have come under attack but also a sense of why they matter. In this runaway bestseller, Lynne Truss takes the fight to emoticons and greengrocers’ apostrophes with a war cry of ‘Sticklers unite!’

It has been a while since I read this, my Brother had (and probably still has) a copy.  I only thought of it because of this Challenge question and I may need to invest in my own copy to refresh my memory.  It’s always a pleasure to read a book in which the writer can appreciate the use of correct grammar and punctuation. I must be a Nerd!

Toilet for Disabled Elderly Pregnant Children

If I should see any Disabled Elderly Pregnant Children, I’ll be sure to let them know!

Let's Eat Grandpa

Brilliant! They should teach this stuff in school …

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Where the Heck Do I Put This Comma? | Full-Time Writer Mom

Leave a Reply

